Northeast India

Where exactly is North East India?

Northeast India
Location of Northeast in India

North East India refers to the cluster of eight small states on the northeastern borders of India, namely, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, and Tripura. They are surrounded by countries like Bangladesh, Bhutan, Myanmar, Nepal and China (Tibetan areas) at various points and primarily connected with the rest of India through a narrow strip of West Bengal. Just have a look at the circled area on the map above to get a clear idea of where you are heading to.

Majority of the ethnic groups here have close genetic as well as historical relations with neighboring areas like Tibet, Myanmar, and Thailand. At the same time, there are also people who settled here from other parts of India. There are hundreds of different communities with their own language, culture and traditions. This is what makes this region unique.

Default image
Articles: 41